Press Releases

L.T. Leif Unveils Brand New Track “Opening” via Gold Flake Paint

May 31, 2016

Today, Calgary’s eclectic indie group L.T.Leif have premiered their brand new single Opening with the music blog Gold Flake Paint.

“Laura Leif is one of those special types of songwriters, the kind of artist that can stop a day in its tracks, pull it apart, bend it this way and that, and transport the listener somewhere else entirely. Lifted from her forthcoming new record, ‘Opening‘ is the personification of such skill; the kind of quiet lilt that immediately shifts whichever backdrop surrounds you in to something far more graceful and immersive.
– Tom Johnson, Gold Flake Paint

Head on over to Gold Flake Paint today and check out the new single Opening just ahead of the June 6 release date of L.T. Leif‘s album Shadow on the Brim / Rough Beasts (via The CYOR).



L.T.Leif Presents Two Tracks from Upcoming Album “Shadow on the Brim / Rough Beasts”

May 15, 2016

Calgary’s eclectic indie group L.T.Leif are back with their unique sound and catchy melodies. The group has recently premiered new tracks from their upcoming releaseShadow on the Brim / Rough Beasts.

L.T.Leif (For fans of: The Microphones, Joanna Newsom, Angel Olsen) is comprised of: Laura Leif (ukulele, vocals, synths), Dice Parks (synths, strings, percussion)Jay Crocker (synths, strings, percussion)Sara Froese (Vocals, violin)Jon McKiel (Drums)and Neal Moignard (Guitar).

Make sure you swing by L.T. Leif‘s Soundcloud page and catch up on the tunes in anticipation for the release of Shadow on the Brim / Rough Beasts due out June 6 via The CYOR.

About L.T.Leif:

A songwriter and an artist, a collaborator and an instigator, L.T. Leif is, above all, a creator. She makes things—drawings, films, melodies and experiences—and her songs are at once true stories and fables, grounded in minutia but grasping at grander truths. She favours the ukulele, an instrument known for its weightlessness, but she tethers it to dark drones and rough-trod soil, and illuminates it with a voice that’s pure, transparent warmth.

Her tangled folk has found many admirers, from K Records maestro Calvin Johnsonwho hand-picked her for a compilation and cross-country tour presented by The Believer Magazine, to Canadian indie veteran Mark Hamilton (Woodpigeon), who recruited her for the international pop collaboration Embassylights. It has also led her to stints in a series of bands linked by a joy of creation, bands like the rough-hewn punk trio OK Jazz and oddball rock’n’roll of Hex Ray. But it’s been over half a decade since it’s led to an album under her own name.

 Shadow on the Brim | Rough Beasts
June 6, 2016

Track List

1. opening
2. deep bright (Stream)
3. watery space vision
4. there that ambition
5. shadow on the brim
6. derelict
7. under our walking, a cave
8. puff ball thing
9. dreams like a dog
10. drk dwllr
11. dontdonut
12. fine dust rising (Stream)
13. oh my

L.T. Leif releases Shadow on the Brim
L.T. Leif one sheet